When Walldorf FC founded in 1919, the football club was not recognised by any of the German football associations. With the establishment of the Deutsche Fußball Liga in 1963, Walldorf FC were promoted to the tier two Regionalliga Nord. After spending two seasons in the Regionalliga Nord, Walldorf FC were promoted to the tier one Bundesliga in 1976 but were immediately relegated back to the Regionalliga Nord. They consecutively returned to the Bundesliga in 1983 and 1988, only to be relegated again in 1990.

In 1994, Walldorf FC were promoted to the 2. Bundesliga but were relegated in 1999. They were promoted to the Bundesliga for the first time in their history in 2007 and have remained in the topflight since. In the 2009–10 season, Walldorf FC finished in fourth place in the Bundesliga and qualified for the Europa League. The following season, Walldorf FC finished in eleventh place in the Bundesliga and were relegated to the 2. Bundesliga. Walldorf FC successfully defended their 2. Bundesliga title in the 2013–14 season and were promoted back to the Bundesliga.

Walldorf FC play their home matches at the Walldorf Stadion which has a capacity of 27,000. The club’s most notable former players include Berti Vogts, Jürgen Klinsmann, Jörg Schnorr, and Michael Ballack.

About the author : Romy

Leave A Comment

Football club

Join our mailing list today

Insider offers & flash sales in your inbox every week.

Curabitur non nulla sit amet nisl tempus convallis quis ac lectus dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit sed porttitor lectus.